Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

Time is counting down and the battle of Hogwarts looms.  Harry Potter and his friends face the impossible challenge of finding all the horcruxes before Voldemort threatens their school as well as the wizardry world.  The final film in Harry’s eight part adventure brings them from the cavernous Gringotts bank to the tall towers of Hogwarts.  With spells and giants on the horizon, Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe), Hermonie Granger (Emma Watson) and Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint) make a heroic stand against Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) and his dark army.  Who will succeed while the other fails and who will live to tell the tale?

In the conclusion of the legendary Harry Potter franchise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 stands out as a remarkable film but a poor adaptation of the book.  While the addition of time strains the reality of the books, as loyalists, as i assume most are, will find certain haphazard changes quite discomforting.  Over the course of the series simple storytelling changes have been made to streamline the films but when filmmakers have already split the final book in half, were these changes necessary?  I do admit that I recently read the book and it if fresh in my mind certain changes just rubbed me the wrong way.  I will not go into specifics as this problem may only relate to me but as I write this I am going to look into writing a post about book to film adaption.

A quick note about the final film:  While most of my audience may have already seen the film, to those who haven’t I urge you to spend the extra money and see it in IMAX 3D.  I dont often like giving into the current 3D craze but this film was excellently retrofitted for 3D.  I havent seen a movie this good in 3D since Avatar!

It’s amazing to see how the cast has aged over the past 10 years.  Much has been said about the chemistry and enjoyment shown by the three lead actors.  This final part leaves a lasting and memorable journey, for the actors and the audience, behind.  I want to award to all the actors on all eight films for their perseverance in making these films for the audience.  It was quite a task and challenge to take this franchise on.  For all the complaints made I could not say how to improve them.  Thank you for taking me along on this journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

